One of the very highest honors to receive as a journalist is the Pulitzer Pirze. Here I have posted some of my favorite photos that have won this great honor.

Sacramento Bee photographer Renée C. Byer won the Pulitzer Prize for feature photography today for her photographs in “A Mother’s Journey,” a series by writer Cynthia Hubert and Byer that appeared in The Bee last summer.

“Byer, 48, chronicled the dying days of 11-year-old Derek Madsen, who was battling cancer, and the anguish of his mother, Cyndie French, as she fought to save him.”

 

Pulitzer-prize-winning photograph taken in 1957 by William Beall of MPD Officer Maurice Cullinane

 

 

During the early hours of February 23rd, Marines all over Iwo Jima were thrilled by the sight of a small American flag flying from atop Mount Suribachi. Later that day, a larger flag was raised by five Marines and a Navy Hospital Corpsman: Sgt. Michael Strank, Cpl. Harlon H. Block, Pfc. Franklin R. Sousley, Pfc. Rene A. Gagnon, Pfc. Ira Hayes, and PhM. 2/c John H. Bradley, USN.

 

A construction worker suspended from a crane, rescues a woman who fell into the Des Moines River near the Center Street Dam in Des Moines, Iowa in this July 1, 2009 photo. This image by Des Moines Register photographer Mary Chind won the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Breaking News Photography.

Photograph by: Mary Chind, The Des Moines Register, Reuters

 

Columbia University announced on April 7, 2003 that Don Bartletti, a photographer from the Los Angeles Times, won a Pulitzer prize for feature photography for his coverage of undocumented Central American youths traveling to the United States.

Photograph by: Don Bartletti, Los Angeles Times, Reuters

 

Scott watches an evening storm roll in outside his apartment. ‘I’m just feeling guilty about the things I did. I was a brutal killer, and I rejoiced in it. I was bred to be a killer, and I did it. Now I’m trying to adapt and feel human again. But to feel human, I feel guilty. I did horrible things to people… That’s why I can’t eat: I feel guilty, I feel sick.’ (Craig F. Walker, The Denver Post- December 29, 2011)

 

Many times all the world sees is sadness and dispair. Photos that show the beauty of the world and the beauty of the human heart are the most beautiful to me.

About laurenhill35

Mizzou Journalism Student

Leave a comment